Priority Communities support

As part of Health Workforce Queensland’s ongoing commitment to ensuring all communities have access to quality health care, in 2013 the organisation undertook a baseline assessment of the “health” of remote and rural towns in Queensland. The purpose of the project was to identify those communities in greatest need and develop strategies to address these inequalities.

The Health Workforce Queensland Priority Communities Report 2013 has led to the identification of ten priority communities: Doomadgee; Normanton; Hope Vale; Pormpuraaw; Aurukun; Winton; Badu Island; Tieri; Cardwell; and Clermont.

Health Workforce Queensland will continue to monitor priority communities using this methodology to accurately reflect ongoing changes to the health environment. We will use this information to determine strategic direction for the organisation in annual planning, and we will engage with priority communities and identified relevant organisations to validate our information and strategies through genuine and respectful community engagement.